Musings from a Type “A” Mom

I have been recently asked, “How do you do it all?” I have a hard time answering that question because when people refer to you as a Supermom, it’s hard to swallow. You try to be the perfect mom, the perfect wife, the perfect worker, you try to also do personal goals, like writing, taking classes, doing things to keep you always on a tract of growing. But, at the end of the day, you realize you can’t be perfect at everything, so I try to take segments of my life and be perfect in those aspects.
For instance, when I’m writing, I want to give 100% of that time to writing and honing my craft. But that’s hard when you have kids and a husband also begging for your attention.
When you go work out, in my case taking Tae Kwon Do, you try to give it your all, ignoring the sheer exhaustion you feel from getting no sleep, working all day and having a nearly two hour commute home at times. Again, you strive for perfection, but it’s hard.
Being a perfect wife? Very difficult when you have so little actual time together and then to be that perfect mom, where the kids want every available second of your time? Very hard. Am I selfish if I take precious minutes away from my family to do personal agendas? It’s something I find myself questioning and debating with myself on a daily basis.
So, when someone calls me a Supermom, I always feel a little funny about it. Now, if I had wings and could really fly, well then I might just agree!

2 thoughts on “Musings from a Type “A” Mom

Leave a Reply

