It’s the Little Things….

ImageMy first major 2012 challenge has been met. I went to my Tae Kwon Do tournament and survived! I spoke to so many people at the event who told me they wished they’d had the guts to compete, but they were just too scared. It made me realize there are so many aspects of our lives which are scary, but if we don’t conquer our fears, we’ll miss some of the most incredible experiences there are. For me, competing in this tournament meant getting up in front of a group of judges, being in front of hundreds of people in the stands and competing in forms and sparring against people with far more experience than I have. I may have placed 5th (out of 6 people) in forms, but guess what? I landed all my jumps, I remembered the entire thing, I did my best and I even got a “thanks for participating medal!” It’s the little things. In sparring, I was up against a woman who I have sparred in my class – a black belt who is extremely good. I’ve never been able to land a punch on her in class, but guess what? I was able to hold my own in the ring and got some points and I’m super happy. I didn’t win, but I did get this cool trophy! Again, it’s the little things and I did it and I just may compete again one day.

So, what’s in store that scares me next for 2012? Well, author discussions on my book. I have one coming up in my daughter’s class in just two days and I’m supposed to talk about the editing process, how long and hard I had to work to get this book published, etc… they’re going to have a Q&A and I’ve heard 10 year olds can be brutal, so I’m a little nervous. Then comes a much larger venue at the local library on February 29th. I do presentations and group meetings for my day job all the time, but when it’s a personal effort, it’s somehow tougher. But, I’m sure when it’s done I’ll be better for the experience.

I used to think “grand scale.” My life would fit into compartments of success… we’d have a house, cars, the kids would be in this class, this sport, have these many friends, fit into this group, everyone excelling in everything. But reality is that life should be about the little things. For me, knowing my son had a great day at school, knowing my daughter stood up to a bully and feels great about herself, knowing I’m providing for my family the best way I know how. Adding all the little things up makes that “grand scale” map so much richer. Life might not be exactly how I pictured it would be, but it’s our lives and we should relish each aspect of it. So, I’ve decided to live with the little things, one step at a time, one attempt at a time.

So please, tell my YOUR next step – I’d love to hear! 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things….

  1. I enjoyed reading your blog. You have an interesting life with work, writing and your family.
    As for my next step…..don’t have an answer to that yet just happy to get through the days. I am going to a class from Melton that is a two year project, about Jewish life and history.I go every Tuesday morning at a temple nearby and have two wonderful
    “teachers.”. I also sing in a Chorale on Thursday am and we give concerts which is sometimes fun and sometimes trying…..go to dinner with both my bereavement groups once a month and each group is different, but interesting. Am still in therapy to help me through this horrible time of my life. She is wonderful.
    Also joined a sisterhood and go to luncheons and lectures. I am taking classes with a special group that is connected to Towson University, which can be fun, watch old movies and discussing the backgrounds of the actors and directors.
    Yet life is just very different and certainly not as enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

