Author Interview: Sherry Foley

Continuing my love of interviewing authors, this week I’d like to introduce everyone to Sherry Foley. She’s a romantic suspense writer who just published her first novel in February, 2012 called SWITCHED IN DEATH, with Winter Goose Publishing.

Hailing all the way from Missouri, I give you Sherry!

Elyse: Please tell us about your book and what makes your novel different than others in your genre?

Sherry: Switched in Death is about a serial killer who was brutally made fun of and bullied as a child. Now grown, the scars are still there. They retaliate in a unique way.  The mind, after all, can convince anyone they are justified in their actions.

Elyse: How did you come up with the idea for this book?

Sherry: I remember at a very young age watching the news and seeing the stories about Charles Manson.  I was in awe of how he felt justified in his killing of another human being.  I’ve been equally intrigued by how fascinated people are with serial killers.  Why is that?  Manson has a Facebook with almost ten thousand followers!  I researched serial killers and fused some details into my story along with the bullying idea.

Elyse: So you use research a lot. Does that mean you plot a lot or do you let your story surprise you?

Sherry: I always let my story surprise me. I’m a total panster.

Elyse: Panster! What is that? I love that word.

Sherry: It’s someone who doesn’t plot, outline or storyboard-they just fly by the seat of their pants and make it up as they go along.  Panster.  I don’t like to know what happens before it does.

Elyse: So you like to be surprised – that’s great. So tell me, what are your current projects?

Sherry: I’m working on a detective series that I’m quite excited about.   I’m on the first book in the series. Its location is in my hometown of Springfield, Missouri. There are a lot of underground tunnels which run all beneath the town and as a kid I played in some of those.  I’ve also named streets my best friends live on and places to eat where we hung out.  There was a murder that happened there when I was a kid and it has bothered me my whole life. This first story will have elements of it, but it will end very differently, I can promise you that.

Elyse:  I heard your book, SWITCHED IN DEATH, was the topic of a few book clubs you went to – can you tell us about that experience – what was it like to hear them talking about your book and how did it make you feel?

Sherry: Incredible. I mean, I know my characters are real, but I didn’t know anyone else did. Ha!  I marveled at how the readers spoke about my characters, cared about them, and even quoted lines from the book. They were totally into it. They have all friended me on Facebook and kept up with my career. One club did an article on me for their town’s newspaper, both donated my book to their local library, and one had my book listed on the high school reading counts list!

Sherry, that’s really exciting!  Thank you so much for letting me interview you and congratulations on your book.   If you’d like to learn more about Sherry Foley you may contact her here:

Email: WordWeaver@kc.rr.com

Website: www.sherryfoley.com

Twitter: @sherry_foley

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sherry-Foley-Author/253958441304150

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Sherry Foley

Leave a Reply

