Final Thoughts on Hurricane Sandy

This will probably be my last post on Hurricane Sandy. Not that I think the repercussions of it are over, but I’ve been thinking about this experience so much and I’m ready to move on. I posted these thoughts on my Facebook page telling people that from this experience I learned a few important things. “There really are more good people in the world than bad, my family is stronger than we thought we were, we can live without the internet, boxed milk really does come in handy, and I need to re-evaluate my priorities of who should and shouldn’t be in my life.”

This last one was a biggie because the outpouring of support I received from people around the country and around the world was simply amazing. My family and I had never experienced something like this before, of this magnitude, and we consider ourselves extremely lucky we were healthy, our house was intact and even though we went 12 days without power, I was able to assure my children that this situation would end soon and things would go back to normal.

I’ve developed a pretty big social media platform and so many people reached out to me and my family with phone calls, likes, posts, comments and simply kind words. Some were virtual strangers just letting us know we were in their thoughts. Some were family members who opened their homes to us. Friends who let us crash at their house for an entire afternoon and fed us. An awesome Aunt in Florida who was ready to pack up her car with supplies and come get us. People shared my blog and posts, they left cords of wood anonymously on my front porch (I still don’t know who did this), and they simply reached out. You learn there are people who care and then there are people who don’t. And trust me, some really don’t. They have excuses of why they didn’t call, they have blame, they have anger, but at the end of the day we all are accountable to our actions and I’m now at peace with it. I can’t remain hurt for those that never once reached out, because it is beyond my control, so I’m going to move on. From the situation and from them. Obviously my family is not a priority of any sort to these people, and probably never were, and my fretting and stressing about it is unnecessary. My husband and I heard a great saying once which we love. “Don’t let that person rent space in your head.”

So next week I will be back to blogging about my books, conducting author interviews and other musings on my life. Maybe it will be bootcamp, maybe work, maybe cooking. Till then, consider my head rent-free! Peace 🙂

6 thoughts on “Final Thoughts on Hurricane Sandy

  1. It’s true thats when you know who really cares,sometimes just a caring word counts. I will have to remember that phrase you wrote “Don’t let people rent space in your head”, I love it.

  2. I’m sure there is some sort of a story in that phrase “Don’t let people rent spac ein your head” and I bet it is a doozy. The question is “What type of story?” It are moments like this (Hurricane Sandy) that will live in on as the family grows and moves out and gathers for what I like to call ‘memory hashings’ like most holidays are around our house. Right now you’re still living with the bad but in time you’ll look back at this and remember all the good things and fun you had. The mind is a strange toy (whether you rent it or not) and you’ll be amazed in 20 yrs to hear what Kelley and Ben remember about those two weeks. As the memories flow, you’ll also learn about things you didn’t know and please, by all means, do not get alarmed or shocked; obviously everyone survived. I’ve learned to ‘go with the flow’ even when I learn that the matching lamps ‘appear’ the same, they are of different ages and took the boys almost 2 days of store hunting to match the surviving one.

    • You’re very right Bob. My kids went through this relatively unscathed – it was disruptive, but they were always fed, taken cared for and I think they’ll remember “the time Daddy dragged all the mattresses downstairs and we slept in front of the fireplace!” If anything, I know I kept it together enough so they’d feel safe. As to the story behind this phrase, it’s a convoluted doozy to be sure, but not worth the space on this page – again, I’ll move on from them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

