Clean Eating – Will it Make Me a Better Writer?

lentilsMaybe it’s winter. Maybe it’s the cold. Maybe I’m just being lazy. It can be any, or all of these things, and I can make every excuse in the book, but the fact is, I’m not eating well recently. Instead of grabbing a yogurt for breakfast, I’ve been indulging on bacon and egg sandwiches. Instead of a salad for lunch, I’m grabbing sushi, stuffed with tons of rice or these big thick udon soups that are loaded with noodles and sodium. Dinners are usually fine, but then by 10:00 pm, I’m downing ice cream and chocolate bars (and I’m not talking about Hershey’s but the real good stuff – Godiva and Lindt) Can we say sea salt and dark chocolate? I’m drooling.

Now, I haven’t gained as much weight as you would think, but I’m not feeling all that great. My back hurts, I have no energy and I’m finding myself stressed. I’m trying to write a book and I have to concentrate and research things and I’m finding it’s a chore. I can’t seem to concentrate on things for more than a certain amount of time.

So, I’m trying to switch things up. My chiropractor and his wonderful receptionist did this healthy eating cleanse for 21 days. I found it tremendously intriguing and while I don’t have the capacity to do that intensive a treatment since I travel on biz, have a family and go out with clients, I can modify my diet. I’ve set a tiny, teeny, little goal. ONE WEEK. For one week only, I will try to avoid milk, white flour, gluten and meat. I’ve been instructed to “make as much food as I can at home” instead of eating out, go organic as much as I can, and up my water intake tremendously. It’s day #2 of this endeavor and so far, so good.

I’ve made two different white bean dips, mushroom sauce to go on brown rice pasta with salmon, eggplant lasagna (broiled, not fried eggplant) with daiya cheese,tofutti ricotta and brown rice noodles, and lentil stew – stuffed with veggies. Everything I’ve made the rest of the family ate and it’s been a hit. I think they were surprised actually.

For me, I ‘ve snacked on the lentils throughout the day, adding a bit of hot sauce or the bean dip. I’m finding that eating them fills me up greatly.

So, after two days, am I feeling clearer? Can I conquer the world yet? That verdict is still out, but I feel pretty good that I am trying this. What is the very worst thing that happens? I feel better? Get more energy? Lose some weight?

Here’s the recipe for that white bean dip I made yesterday:

1 Can Cannelli White Beans
1/2 juiced lemon
2 garlic cloves
2 tbs olive oil
salt/pepper to taste
handful of fresh parsley

Mix all the ingredients together with a hand blender or food processor and refrigerate. Seriously easy. If you want to up the ante like I did tonight (since I had to make it again because my daughter ate all of it), I cooked cauliflower florets for 10 minutes, mixed it with all the ingredients above and added fresh rosemary. The added cauliflower changed the recipe from a creamy one to more of a hummus texture, which I know will be a hit with my daughter. She loves hummus, but is allergic to it (a chickpea allergy???), so this is a fine substitute.

If you’re feeling adventurous, take a peeler and make strips of parsnip, put on light olive oil and salt and bake at 425 degrees for 10 – 14 min (turn over halfway) – let cool – super good with the dip.

So tell me, what do you do to feel healthy? Any good, simple recipes you’d like to add in the comments below? Love to hear them! Simple please…

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

And lastly, writing: I’m building my newsletter. If you’d like to join my e-mail list for announcements about upcoming book releases, please do so here: http://elysesalpeter.com/contact.html I promise NEVER to sell or distribute your email to anyone else.

SWEEPSTAKES: SWEEPSTAKES! The 10th person to join my newsletter is going to win a signed copy of FLYING TO THE LIGHT – with the original first cover. The 20th person will win a signed copy and so will the 30th. I will do this up until the 100th new newsletter fan! The contest will go until the new book cover is released in early March.

8 thoughts on “Clean Eating – Will it Make Me a Better Writer?

  1. Eating better can definitely help you to think more clearly and have more energy. And hopefully ease physical symptoms, help you to not get sick as often, etc. If you are intolerant of gluten, soy, or some other food, it can cause a ‘brain fog’ that really slows you down and can make it next to impossible to write.

    I am by no means the perfect example of clean eating, but I am vegan, grain-free, and avoid other multiple allergens. I try to limit soy and keep it organic, and to limit sugar and baking. All of that means that I do have to cook pretty much everything from scratch; so if I want to still have time for my job, my family, and my writing, it’s best to keep it as whole, simple, and unprocessed as possible!

    • I have to go to a dinner tonight – hoping they have a veggie entree – but I bet they won’t. I’ll make do – but more importantly, going to WORK tomorrow and so want to eat healthy… a full week of work without being home will be the test. How to get the food I want to eat… I think I can – it will just cost me $16 for a small kale salad, but NY has organic food stores…

  2. If you ask me (you did, didn’t you?) clean eating can make you better at more than just writing. It clears the mind, restores your reflexes and sharp acuity… oh so many great benefits. Let’s see what happens! For at work stuff — I grab lots of organic healthy things for my lunches: organic string cheese at Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods, tomatoes sliced with salt & pepper, and other things that can be eaten on the go and anywhere… and greek yogurt… all great

  3. Now I want lentil stew! I feel horrid when I eat gluten or dairy. The only problem is I can eat larger portions of rice based foods, since they don’t make you feel puffy and sit in your stomach like lead. If you decide gluten and dairy are evil, too, I have great recipes. Baked goods made with rice and almond flour (with xanthum gum) are superior. Even gluten eaters agree. 🙂

Leave a Reply

