The Fun of Friday Phrases… #FP

fpI will admit it, I’m hooked on the Friday Phrases Twitter game. Every week I eagerly wait for this micro-fiction party. The concept is, you write a story in a simple tweet and end it with the hashtag #FP. You can come up with your own ideas, or they’ll even offer you a prompt to use. I can spend hours just perusing the hashtag, watching the incredible entries pour in.

“How hard is this to do” you might ask? Think about it. A story in one or two lines, complete with emotion and depth? It isn’t easy and it’s amazing to see the stories people have come up with. It’s also a thrill to see how many people favorite, retweet, or comment on the ones you do. This way you have a gauge on how well the “story” was received.

Some of my highest ranked ones that I’ve written (under @elysesalpeter) were these:

The vows done, the kiss sealed. Rose petals flung in celebration. Did anyone care how I felt? I touched the swell of my stomach & cried. #FP

“You’ll sleep when you’re dead,” the old adage goes. The problem is, I’m not tired anymore…The lid clanged shut. #FP

I washed my hands until they bled, but no amount of soap could rid the stain. Like a mark on my soul, it was destined to remain forever. #FP

My macabre selection of show and tell items always made my teachers nervous. Being the child of a serial killer did have its advantages. #FP

“Weird.” The plumber caulked the pipe & watched the tap drip again. The tornado had been fierce. Only the sink stood in the open field. #FP

“Trick or Treat, mommy,” the girl raised the white sheet over her head. The woman sobbed at the nothingness underneath. Every Halloween.#FP

…………………………………..

Some tweeps have blown me away with their creativity and they were gracious enough to let me list theirs here. I’ve included their twitter handles, so feel free to follow them to see more of their work in the future.

From @chibiella: A certain type of darkness is needed to trap the light without killing it. You opened the doors and watched me dance in the twilight. #FP

From @jabe842: “We only have #sixwords,” she said sadly. “How can we -” “It’s okay,” he told her, and took her hand. “We’ll only ever need three each.” #FP

From: @cedrixclarke: He realized between the top of the bridge and the chill of the water that his worries were not that desperate after all. #FP

From @ImMCarvalho: Scientists were stunned when Jupiter’s Great Red Spot transformed into a black sphere. Then it rose up, headed to destroy Earth. #FP

Tell me these entries above weren’t great?!

Want to learn more about Friday Phrases @fridayphrases? Click here: http://fridayphrases.com/ and JOIN THE FUN!

11 thoughts on “The Fun of Friday Phrases… #FP

Leave a Reply

