Launching a Sequel

Book #1 & #2 in my Deaf Thriller Series

Book #1 & #2 in my Deaf Thriller Series

I’ve heard in the industry that it is very difficult launching a sequel. For starters, unless it’s a standalone, readers need to read the first book in the series to develop a relationship with the story and the characters. So, the question is, how do you launch a sequel successfully?

Answer? Promotion and creativity. I’m launching Book #2 in my YA thriller series on August 30th. The novel is called FLYING TO THE FIRE and is the sequel to FLYING TO THE LIGHT. The books are about a deaf boy who knows about the afterlife and now people are after him for the answer.

Until August 14th, I’m offering the kindle version of Book #1 for only 99 cents (and £0.77 in the UK). That’s right, today, tomorrow and Thursday, FLYING TO THE LIGHT is just 99 cents for your kindle. I figure this way new readers can grab a copy and have the opportunity to read it before book #2 comes out (and possibly even get a few more reviews in as well).

In addition, I’m advertising on ENT, The Fussy Librarian, hopefully Pixel of Ink if they pick it up, and will promote on all the FB 99 cent sites, Google+ and Twitter. FLYING TO THE LIGHT has been out for a bit and has sold pretty well. I’m hoping with a series in place that it will continue to develop a nice audience. I’m about to start on Book #3 soon and it’s tentatively titled FLYING HOME.

On August 30th, I’ve got 9 – 10 bloggers promoting the book and doing a special book launch event on FB where I’ll be giving away prizes. I’ll have signed copies of FLYING TO THE FIRE and FLYING TO THE LIGHT, a voucher from a deaf retailer, Itunes cards, etc… This will be the first time I’m doing one of these all by myself, so we’ll see how it goes. I have over 100 people coming so far, so I’m very excited. Please feel free to join the online event here to win some fun prizes. No pressure to buy, just joining and participating would be great, too. https://www.facebook.com/#!/events/669594469785008/

If you’d like to purchase FLYING TO THE LIGHT for just 99 cents, please do so here:

US: http://www.amzn.com/B00J8ZPKWG
UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Flying-Light-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00J8ZPKWG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1407850545&sr=8-1&keywords=flying+to+the+light

It’s at this price until August 14th and then will go back up to $2.99.

If anyone would care to do a write-up, interview or promotion on their own blogs because they’re looking for content on August 30th or anytime the week after, please feel free to let me know and I’ll provide anything you need.

Thanks so much and happy reading!

4 thoughts on “Launching a Sequel

  1. I think the .99 sale could be on either side of a launch. Some people price the new book at .99 but I think your idea may work better. I am looking forward to hearing how this worked for you.

Leave a Reply

