Making Excuses

excusesLet’s put it out there right now. We all make excuses. Excuses for not wanting to exercise, excuses for not being able to eat right, for not wanting to go to work, school, do homework, put our laundry away, write. “I have a headache, I’m tired, my back hurts, or the best, I just don’t have the time.”

I get it. We all make excuses. I’m known for my piles. I have papers, letters, scraps of stuff I just don’t know what to do with, so I put them in piles and then make excuses as to why I can’t put them away. I have been making an excuse for the past two weeks why I can’t exercise. I blamed “I lost my iPod.” (which I did) But I found it today and suddenly my excuse is gone and I’m like “Uh oh, I have to exercise now.” (now I’m frantically thinking if my bad back, which I have, is enough of an excuse not to work out – I’m thinking not)

I think the thing is, we have to think about why we’re making an excuse in the first place. Is it avoidance of an issue, plain laziness, or is the effort too much?

I’m staring at two piles of papers in my room now. Today I put away 10 pieces of paper from one pile. I know it doesn’t seem like a lot, but I had to figure out WHERE to put those things and while I’m feeling pretty good about it, I realize I have about 100 more papers to go. After I’m done with this post, I think I’ll put a few more away. I think.

But you see, while I do have these piles, I’m anything but lazy. I made a lasagna today and a pot of sauce and meatballs, I made a photo album for my kid’s birthday party, I edited a horror anthology I’m working on and spoke to two beta readers who are reading Book #2 in my Kelsey Porter series. (Book #1 is THE HUNT FOR XANADU which you can check out here if you’d like: http://bitly.com/1tzIna2 ) I also went food shopping to two stores, cleaned my bathroom and hustled one kid to classes AND played Minecraft to appease another child. (dang it’s hard to move on that game!)

So, I have a few papers on a pile. Big deal. Maybe it’s not such a bad excuse after all. So tell me, what “chore” do you put aside until you just can’t put it aside any longer? Love to hear!

23 thoughts on “Making Excuses

  1. I loved this! Mine is ironing (ugh), and anything that has to do for math. I’m also staring at a pile of Christmas presents I have to mail! I also put off writing difficult scenes in whatever work-in-progress I’m on!

    • I made an excuse all day for writing the blog and realized by the end of the day what my blog should be about. Ironing I can do, dishes, not so much! Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

  2. Going to bed. Does that count? It’s a chore to spend so much time asleep! If we’re talking a real chore then pairing off the socks. Or hoovering. Or anything domestic. Apart from cooking. I love cooking.

    • Is hoovering “vacuuming?” If so, I heartily agree! I’m not partial to cleaning pots. Actually, I really don’t like that at all. I’d rather clean a toilet. How weird is that?

      • Yes it is! And yes, toilet cleaning is a weird preference! My wife is the same though. Oddly I enjoy getting on my hands and knee and washing the kitchen and utility floors; I think it’s part pleasure in the process, part seeing the dog’s horrified expression as I sanitise is territory.

  3. Maybe the problem is that we have too much to do. I find myself always in the middle of multiple projects. For instance, now, I have a sequel to my last novel to finish, and outlines and ideas for at least four more. In the basement, I started to take apart my in-laws 1950s-era hi fi because it has a nice cabinet, and installing modern stereo equipment. Which means there is an old cabinet with tools, screws and bits of two audio systems piled on top of it. But then I had to put that aside for the Christmas decorating, which means there are boxes pulled out of their storage space, open and partly empties, because we didn’t finish decorating yet because we have to work around the boys’ classes, exams and part-time jobs, and then our grandson came for a two-week visit, and of course there are meals, and regular house chores, and we have to put other things down when is snows so we can clear the driveway – oh, yes, and then there’s my job. So those are my excuses.

    • They’re good excuses and in your case, maybe not excuses at all. Maybe you just physically can’t do everything right now because your plate is full. I don’t consider that an excuse and I think you’re doing great. We are not magicians that can add hours to our day.

  4. For me, I’ll find any — ANY — excuse to avoid doing something I know I should do but don’t want to do. If I can find another activity, some things just fall to the side and await my return. Well, that is until they block my road and I have to address them. I should be writing. I should be editing. But there is social media, email, cooking meals, television and crap! Yup! Going to the bathroom.

  5. Glad to know I’m not the only one with piles of stuff. Guess I’m not into putting things away, so they tend to pile up…sticky notes…oh my…so many…and saving stuff for scrapbooking, and on and on. And you’r right…where do you put them? Just make another pile of it in the other room, right? I will put off sweeping the floors forever…but love doing dishes and ironing! 😉

      • Funny thing is…I know where to find what I need in all the piles, wherever they are, and if I move them, or try to actually organize anything, it will be lost forever in it’s proper/safe place. 🙂

  6. I’m definitely one for excuses. I hope in the coming year I make less excuses and have more achievements. Great post.

Leave a Reply

