Creativity Comes in all Forms – Time to Step Out of Your Box

My Aloysius Pendergast fan fic ala: Paul Bettany

My Aloysius Pendergast fan fic ala: Paul Bettany

Last week I touched on a recent illness that happened where I landed in the hospital for a week. For a full week AFTER I didn’t have the energy to do more than maybe turn on my phone. I couldn’t read, I couldn’t write. I mean, here I am a writer and I couldn’t wrap my head around creating more than a blog post and I couldn’t get enough attention span to read more than a page or two while I lay in bed.

Another Bettany

Another Bettany

But, three days home, I dragged myself out with my son to our art class. You see, a few weeks before I got ill, we decided to take art classes together. So, every Wednesday we spend an hour, just the two of us and an instructor, and we do whatever lesson she has planned. We’ve created bubble people, painted, we’re doing anime and for a few weeks we did Grid Art. I’ve always wanted to learn how to draw. I have all these ideas in my head, crazy made-up animals I’d like to recreate on paper, and people I’d like to draw. So that art class spurred me to make a grid and try to draw on my own. I took myself out, bought a bunch of shading pencils and a drawing pad, and it turns out, I don’t think I’m all that bad. I put a few of them on Facebook and got a lot of reactions. Most were, “You can draw, too?” Um, I didn’t think I could. I’m just sort of dabbling, but my mom even called me the other day and exclaimed, “I don’t understand where this is coming from. People don’t just start drawing. I don’t believe I ever remember you excelling at art.” But I happen to come from a family where there are a lot of amazing artists, my mom used to paint, my sister is ridiculously creative, a few of my cousins are just amazing at it. Maybe there’s some latent gene that just popped out with me, I don’t know.

Al Pacino

Al Pacino

It’s kind of funny. I don’t know if I’m any good or not, but I find it soothing and challenging and I’m using a part of my brain that’s not being taxed to put words on paper, or concentrating on remembering what is happening in the scene of the book I’m reading. If I want to repetitively draw and shade the same spot over and over, my mind can wrap around that. While I get myself healthy, I’m still creating, so I feel like I’m still “moving ahead” (dang my Type “A” mentality) So I think I’m going to keep going for a while. See where it takes me. I’d LOVE to get better at this. So far I’ve tried Paul Bettany and Al Pacino. I think Robin Williams or Charlie Sheen might be next – found some good black and white photos with contrast I can use.

So I leave all my creative types with this… what else can you do? Do you ever step outside your box? You should give it a try. I bet there’s a whole lot out there to explore that you never thought you could do.

31 thoughts on “Creativity Comes in all Forms – Time to Step Out of Your Box

  1. I’ve always loved music, and I played clarinet for many years but stopped when I finished high school. I’ve recently decided I want to learn to play violin, and the thought of having that creative outlet is pretty exciting, I have to admit … thought I feel bad for my neighbors, who don’t know what’s coming! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. These drawings you’ve done are awesome! Thanks for showing them, and telling how you started out on your new project. I’ve always done painting, drawing, crafts, etc. in all mediums, and have been doing zentangles recently, which is relaxing and they turn out pretty cool. Also, I’ve decided to learn to play guitar. Got one, and so far have learned 2 chords…haha…but I keep on practicing every day. I did play violin for many years, and still remember how that goes, so guitar would be easy, right? Not so much ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway, thanks for your post, and have lots of fun creating! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You made me look up zentangles! They actually look like the doodles I used to do, to be honest! I’d love to learn how to play the guitar – I’m definitely not musically oriented though.

      • Well, zentangles are supposed to be ‘zen’ ๐Ÿ™‚ I suppose. They’re fun, but some I’ve seen can get really elaborate. I’d love to be able to do portraits, but I’ve tried and they are not good. Now animals, I can do ok. Hope you show us some more of yours. Oh, what is grid drawing? Wishing you a wonderful evening! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Your work is very good and you show talent. While “shore-based” in the Navy, I would do oil paintings – even sold some. I’ve always wanted to tap dance and discovered my mom knew how to tap but only after she had arthritis and couldn’t teach me. So, when I’m not writing, I cook and dream of tap dancing and sometimes I dabble some oil onto a canvas. Keep up the work.

  4. I’ve done this myself – so theraputic and actually opened me up creatively. Even more when I did it, eyes closed. Great post!

  5. It’s inspiring that you can find this ability and develop it so far after being an “adult.” You’re exploding the myth that you have to discover your talent and begin to develop it when you’re a child, otherwise you’ll never do well at it. Thanks!

    • Photography needs such a good eye – so glad you love that! Maybe there’s new areas of photography you can explore. It’s just so important for us to try other things.

  6. Elyse this is awesome! You draw very well. I draw stick people :/ I have heard it said that most creative people are blessed with more than one ability. I think I got left out of that one! The only thing I can do (other than write) is play the piano and clarinet. And it’s been YEARS since I’ve done either!

    • You play the piano AND clarinet? That is so amazing. Most people can’t even do one instrument – me included. The recorder is probably the only thing I can do effectively.

  7. How awesome! I admit I’m not at all capable of drawing. My fingers shake too much. My creative outlets were always music (played several instruments) and writing. However, lately I’m trying to learn different tips and tricks in photoshop, which has awakened my visual brain in ways I didn’t think possible. It’s amazing what our creative halves can do when we let them out of the box.

    • I think that’s great you’re doing photoshop – anything creative seems to wake things up. I WISH I could play an instrument. Only kid I know who took piano on and off for 7 years and I only can play chopsticks.

  8. I have a moderate amount of skill in a wide variety of hobbies, but I haven’t found one that just “sings” to me yet. I like to knit, paint, even sculpt but the business of my life only leaves with moments to do any of them. That is by choice. I think no matter how busy we are, we will find time to do the things that make our hearts sing.

  9. Well since I knew who they were without the titles I’d say damn good; me I write and I cook. End of. Tried various forms of fine and not so fine art and everything always looks like the elephant man…. keep going if I were you. There’s a real skill there wanting to ooze its way out..

    • I LOVE to cook too. In fact, it’s one of my favorite things to do. I have in the oven right now a batch of Greek inspired chicken, with olives, onions, lemon and garlic doused with fresh thyme (didn’t have fresh oregano)… salivating until it’s done.

  10. You’re GOOD Elyse! The upper right hand one of Paul Bettany definitely looks like him, and Al Pacino is good too!!! Keep doing it! You’re capturing it! I love the creative outlet that painting gives me as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I wish I could draw faces that well! Like you, most of my family are the artistic types and do it professionally. I’m the only writer, and when I couldn’t find the perfect book cover, I ended up painting it.I figured I’d do a quick and dirty painting for my first book. After it earned enough, I’d get a real artist. Only, my acrylics have become my brand.

    • Good for you! I am really just dabbling – some of my dabbles have not come out as well… my poor Robert Pattinson one will not see the light of day. But it’s fun. Glad acrylics are working for you!

      • Poor Robert, but your Al more than makes up for it. You might give Robert another try only this time, turn him upside down and draw him that way. It’s a trick my HS art teacher taught us and it’s amazing. I think you’ll be pleased.

      • Oh wow – what a great idea! I might do that. I was also told by another person to turn the picture around and look at it backwards and the errors will completely show up.

  12. I love this. I think there are so many things we all think about trying one day or wish we could do, but never actually try. Writing was one for me. I think this is lovely. I’m sorry you have been I’ll, but happy you are finding comfort in such a wonderful activity.

Leave a Reply

