Make one Tiny Change for Big Results…

changeChange is hard for most people. We get stuck in our ways and prefer to be comfortable. It’s easier to sit on a couch and eat chips than it is to take a jog outside and grab an apple instead. It’s hard to change a career later in life for fear of failure. It’s hard to talk to someone about how you really feel, just letting everything sit in your gut instead, so you don’t have to deal with confrontation. It’s hard to reach out to ask someone for their help, for fear of rejection.

But if we don’t change certain things in our lives, then our bad habits, or simply habits, will control us and bring us down.

Food: I realize I’m addicted to sugar. Just love it. On my yogurt, in my cereal, candy bars, and when I drink coffee, three heaping tablespoons is my preferred amount of sugar inducing coma. Well, my family is riddled with diabetes. I realize I am also not feeling so great these days and while a blood test said I’m totally fine, I think I need to get this addiction under control. I switched to artificial sweetener in my coffee, but honestly, that’s worse for me than sugar. It’s like putting cardboard or poison or plastic into my system on a daily basis and guess what? I still don’t feel well. So, I made a tiny change just a few days ago. Did you know that cinnamon is a sweetener at its core? I am a coffee snob and at first refused to try it, but then realized I love Starbuck’s Pumpkin Spice Soy Lattes and the Cinnamon Dolce isn’t bad (NOTE: they are FULL OF SUGAR so of course I love them). But, now every morning in my coffee I use just one teaspoon of sugar and sprinkle Cinnamon into it and while it is not nearly as sweet as I normally crave, it’s completely acceptable. (I wonder if a Cinnamon stick would be good, too? Hmmm) Not to mention Cinnamon is used to help treat muscle spasms, vomiting, diarrhea, infections, the common cold, loss of appetite, and may lower blood sugar in people with type 1 or type 2 diabetes, according to Diabetes UK.

Jobs: I changed my job six weeks ago. I am learning things that I never learned before, lingo that I’ve never heard, getting eye rolls from people younger than me when I ask a question that seems like a no brainer. Sigh… luckily I catch on quick and most times you only have to tell me the answer once! But the fact is, I had to change what I was previously doing in order to learn something new in my field. I had to make this change to continue to be relevant in my industry. (I’m in publishing advertising sales by the way) It was scary. It IS scary. I want to know everything right now. I want to be successful right now. But the last thing I want to do in this life is say I didn’t try.

Promotions: We all know I write. I have been building my “critical mass” (fancy shmancy word for social media fan base) and have done all the necessary things. But something I need to do is get blurbs for my book cover The Hunt for Xanadu. I just got up the guts to ask a very well-known author for a blurb. There is a very good chance he will ignore me or say no. He writes in my genre and we “casually” know each other, meaning I’ve met him multiple times and he’s responded to my emails. In fact, he has the book. I mailed it to him two years ago because we’d met and I was supposed to also send him something else, so I put my book in here. But I never got the guts to ask him if he would do a blurb. I guess I’m afraid he’ll reject me, read the novel and dislike it, or just not talk to me any more out of embarrassment. It could be any number of things. The fact is, if I don’t ask, I’ll never give myself the luxury of ever hearing a “yes.” P.S. I asked him three days ago – haven’t heard a peep yet.

So, making tiny changes. I know it’s not New Year’s and it’s September, but there’s no better time than the present to make a change for the better. Think of one thing you can do that is outside your norm and try it. One thing to change your life in just a teeny way. Love to hear what you come up with.

16 thoughts on “Make one Tiny Change for Big Results…

  1. Wonderful choices, Elyse, and great reminder. I posted a share on my FB page called “Fall Clean-up” and it refers to new beginnings, such as the French course I signed up for this fall. Fall cleaning isn’t only your house and yard, it can also be our brains! Congratulations.

  2. We only have to fear fear itself. Rejection is a big fear, but I think the fear of rejection is bigger. I learned – at a late age – if you don’t go for it yourself, nobody else is going to go for it for you. In other words, if you don’t toot your horn, it ain’t going to be tooted. At the ripe age of 43 I quit my job for another and moved my family to the East Coast. Fourteen months later, I left it for another job and as I turned 51, I took a job back closer to family and home. It was scary – very scary. I applaud your ambition and nerve and don’t let those “whipper-snappers” get the best of you!!!

    • LOL – you are reading my mind – sometimes I wish I were just ten years younger… that’s not asking a lot. Just 10 years so I can fit into all of what I want to do just a wee bit better. But I can’t, so I might as well toot what I can and try what I can now, right?

  3. I have asked the local bookshop if they will host me and my new book. Didn’t do it with book one from a host of inadequate reasons but managed to take the plunge this time. Still waiting… (only a couple of days ago to be fair). You’re post is timely Elyse.

    • Might I recommend you do even more. Don’t just shove all the eggs in one basket. Ask a few bookstores, go into a few coffee shops and THEN also go to your local libraries and ask if they do author events… I always found you have to ask a ton of places to get the one win… but I have faith! Good luck!

      • Elyse, I’ll be 71 next month. You’re quite young in comparison, I think. And good advice about the bookstores and libraries -yes, it’s like the old rejection slips used to be, only one acceptance can do it, and we must thicken our skins for rejection. After all, our self esteem and self concept do not hang on someone else’s view of us and our work, and another VIP in the publishing business might think we’re the cat’s pajamas.

  4. Your post and the comments reminded me of a song from Man of La Mancha (1972), The Impossible Dream. It was very popular with my generation. Last stanza:

    And the world will be better for this
    That one man, scorned and covered with scars
    Still strove with his last ounce of courage
    To reach the unreachable star

  5. It only takes about three weeks to make a change stick. Three measly weeks to alter a bad habit into a good one. My hubby and I are changing our eating patterns (diabetes rearing its ugly head) and since we’re doing it together, we are making it easier. I suggest a buddy system for your change. Try Splenda or Stevia as your sweetner, since they are better for your body. I think Splenda tastes good. Once you get to the point of high blood sugar, it’s much more difficult to reverse, believe me.

    • Ok, I’m going to say have Stevia over Splenda – I’ve been reading a ton about all these artificial ingredients and Splenda turns out not to be as safe as we think. Splenda does taste good though – I had been using that and was advised to get off of it. Good luck – the buddy system is a great thing!

  6. When you perk a carafe of coffee, add a couple of dashes of cinnamon to the fresh coffee grounds and voila! Cinnamon coffee. We also learned to add vanilla extract, maple extract, raspberry extract, chocolate extract and combinations of those to the grounds before letting the water steep through. Ahhh, nice flavored coffee and so cheap. Yup! That’s us at the office, cheap!! We had a choice back then – $8.99-$14.99 a lb for flavored coffee beans versus $5.49 for three lbs of coffee from the can. Besides, imagine the aroma of vanilla cinnamon coffee as it brewed, wafting through the office. The only caveat, you have to watch to make sure the cinnamon doesn’t plug up the flow through the paper filter… my co-worker used 2 filters by accident and extra cinnamon and we had coffee grounds everywhere!! This method allowed us to have “black” coffee without using creamer flavors and a lot of sugar. Just an option to consider.

  7. I’ve been itching for a change for a couple of years now. I usually rearrange my furniture when I get this itch, but my home is too small to do that these days. I’m hoping for something bigger to change anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

