How The Aloysius Pendergast Series Influenced a Group of Fans

THE HUNT FOR XANADU Doug Cover

Updated Cover with Doug’s Review!

It’s no secret that I’m a Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child fan – and to be more specific, a fan of the Aloysius Pendergast series. I’m such a fan, that on Facebook I’m part of a group where I get to discuss the minutia of the series with people I hold in high regard. They’ve proven to be intelligent, insightful… and creative. So creative, that I wanted to showcase some of the work of these amazing people, all who have been influenced, and inspired, by the series.

You see, Douglas and Lincoln influenced my writing of my Kelsey Porter books. Four years ago I decided to write a series of novels that I thought the authors would personally enjoy. I wanted them to be smart, to have required a lot of research, and to be steeped in Buddhist spiritual mysteries. Four years later, Douglas read book #1 and wrote this amazing review:

The Hunt for Xanadu by Elyse Salpeter is a remarkable novel, a fascinating and fantastical journey in time and space, and one of the most gripping novels I’ve read in a long time. It flies along at the pace of a thriller, with plenty of murder and mayhem along the way. But behind the thrill-ride is a spiritual story, an archetypal tale of mystery and darkness, riddled with fascinating and esoteric concepts in Tibetan Buddhism. Vivid characters, a truly appealing protagonist, unexpected twists, and crisp writing complete this unforgettable book. I can’t wait to read the next one in the series!”

–Douglas Preston, #1 bestselling author and co-creator, with Lincoln Child, of the Pendergast series

The Bad Habit Coloring BookPretty darn great, right? Well, today I’m going to showcase two more Pendergast fans who have also received glowing reviews from the authors for their creative efforts. Tiffany Stafford created an incredible coloring book of the series.  It’s called “The Bad Habit Coloring Book.” She has drawn images directly from the series and it’s a must for anyone who is a fan. There is one of Aloysius in a Hawaiian shirt that I just absolutely adore!

beyond riversideAnother fan, Chris Royal, created “Beyond Riverside Drive: A Companion Cookbook, and it’s a compilation of all the foods that are discussed in the series. The authors are huge foodies and Chris left nothing out, from “Dried Beef, Fish Lip Soup, Hare Pate to Track Rabbit.”  Not to mention he is an amazing artist and produced renditions throughout the cookbook. I’ve
already made a few recipes from the cookbook and I feel like I’m “eating along with the main character!”

Both Tiffany and Chris received shout-outs on Douglas Preston and
Lincoln Child’s fan page
on Facebook. They are worth checking out if you, or anyone you know, loves the Aloysius Pendergast Series and “needs a little something” until their next novel comes out.

Purchase THE HUNT FOR XANADU here

Purchase THE BAD HABIT COLORING BOOK here

Purchase BEYOND RIVERSIDE DRIVE here

Has an author every influenced you in your creative efforts? Has a book ever inspired you so greatly that you had no choice but to create something from it to share with others? I’d love to hear!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “How The Aloysius Pendergast Series Influenced a Group of Fans

  1. Hello Elyse! I am a Pendergast groupie as well, and I’d like to mention Judy Neighbors and her creative quilt of the Pendergast mansion’s book case. It is an awesome piece of work and took many many hours of creative ingenuity to assemble.
    I would also like to say I love the Kelsey Porter books you write! I have the first two and am shortly going to have the third (can’t wait!). So please keep them coming!

    • Oh, Linda, I know of Judy’s quilt very well. I got to see it in person at Pendercon last year. She’s so very talented. The only reason I didn’t mention it was because readers couldn’t buy it and I was promoting things they can get on Amazon. But you’re right, it’s an awesome piece of work. So glad you like the Kelsey books! That’s great to hear! Book #3 is getting finishing touches… Stay tuned!

  2. Great blog post, Elyse. Do you know if your books will be coming out on audible.com? I listen to books most of the time and would really like to get yours!

      • That would be great if you would. I listen when I work or am in the car, so I am always looking for new books and yours sound really good!

Leave a Reply

