The Quickest Amazon Giveaway on the Planet….

giveawaySo, Book #3 in the Kelsey Porter series launched. Right before this I decided to try out the new Amazon giveaway for Book #2. I’ll be honest, most times trying to get people to enter giveaways is so hard, that I wonder if it’s even worth it to do them.

I’ve done Goodreads giveaways and gotten possibly 600 people to enter. I’ve done FB, instagram and twitter giveaways and maybe 20 come in. This give-away you can pick how you want it to run. I gave away five books with a one in ten chance. I thought it would take all day for this to go. I put it out on twitter, Facebook, google+ and by the time it hit my newsletter folks, the giveaway was already over!

Yes, over. And here’s what’s weird. Four of the people that won were “A” names, the last name I couldn’t even pronounce, and I knew none of them. You’d think if I were first promoting to my own people, I’d know at least one of the winners, but I didn’t.

Next time I do this I’ll do a 1 in 100 chance to win. (or 1 in 300) As of now, I basically only engaged 50 people in this. Not efficient at all, and I had to pay for five ebooks, full price. (yes, I’ll get the royalties, and yes, it helped in my rankings for a spell, but it was roughly $20 for what seemed like a five minute giveaway and not even one review from it.)

I just thought I’d share my experience. Definitely something I’d do again, but I’d up the amount of people that need to enter to win the books, and play around with how many books to give away. I think the sweet spot is at least 500 entrants. Worst thing that happens is people don’t enter and you have a few books leftover you simply can gift to other people. They’re ebooks, so it’s not like the outlay is that huge.

Have you done one to great success? Love to hear.

8 thoughts on “The Quickest Amazon Giveaway on the Planet….

  1. I’ve entered a couple of these contests and wondered about the mechanics. Thanks for filling us in. The Goodreads contests I’ve done required that I give away print books, which is more expensive, so I’d be tempted to do this kind of giveaway. Getting reviews from people who get a free book is always a wish and a dream, but getting the book in front of hundreds of potential buyers is valuable.

  2. Thanks for sharing this. I’ve been thinking of doing some giveaways, and looking for strategies to get the numbers high. I think if we all share our experiences with promos, we’ll all do better.

    • Only complicated because I had no idea what I was doing at first or the quickness of the event. Next time I’ll be much more diligent and make it a much harder contest to just win so quickly.

Leave a Reply

